Tigers need win against Sri Lanka for farewell to Mashrafe

Feature Image
A- A A+

Sports Desk : Bangladesh will face Sri Lanka in the second and last T20I of the series under floodlight at R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on Thursday, eyeing a victory to level the series.

The match which will be the last T20I appearance of Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Bin Mortaza will begin at about 7:30pm Bangladesh time.

To ensure a lovely farewell to Mashrafe’s career of around 10 years in the shortest format cricket, the Tigers win in the 7th T20I battle against Sri Lanka would be the best tribute to inspirational Norail Express.

Mashrafe retired from T20I on his own term which came in a sudden announcement at the toss for the first T20I against Sri Lanka in Colombo Tuesday, was really took several months to decide that he admitted after the match.

Upul Tharanga’s men must determine to wrap up series with trophy as they won the first T20I by six wickets to take 1-0 lead.

The Tigers shared both the Test and the rain-hit ODI series trophies playing 1-1 draws against Sri Lanka. Now a win for series draw in T20I, will be a significant moment for the Tigers to end a full tour to a higher-ranked nation on even ground for the first time, since Bangladesh became a Test nation in 2000.

Bangladesh registered the only victory against Sri Lanka in a meeting at home in the Twenty20 format in the Asia Cup 2016. Since September 2007, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka played six T20Is where the letter side secured five victories.

The playing XI for Bangladesh might have one change. After Test and T20, Bangladesh might blood youngster Mehidy Hasan Miraz replacing Mohammad Saifuddin — debutant of the last match.

Bangladesh probable XI: Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim (wicketkeeper), Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mosaddek Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, and Mehidy Hasan.

Sri Lanka team: Upul Tharanga (captain), Dilshan Munaweera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Lasith Malinga, Isuru Udana, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dasun Shanaka, Vikum Sanjaya, Milinda Siriwardana, Asela Gunaratne, Seekkuge Prasanna, Chamara Kapugedara, Thisara Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Shehan Jayasuriya and Kusal Perera.

More News »