Shakib named Bangladesh’s T20I captain

Feature Image
A- A A+

Dhaka : Shakab Al Hasan, the current world number one all-rounder in all formats of cricket, has been chosen as Bangladesh’ new T20I captain to replace Mashrafe Mortaza.

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) president Nazmul Hasan Papon on Saturday announced Shakib’s name as captain for the shortest format of cricket after their decision in its 16th executive board meeting.

With this announcement, the Tigers are getting three leaders, Mushfiqur Rahim (Test), Mashrafe (ODI) and Shakaib (T20I), for three separate formats of cricket.

Mashrafe, who led Bangladesh last in a two-match T20I series against Sri Lanka in Colombo, announced his retirement from this format at toss of the 1st T20I battle of that series on April 4.

For the second time Shakib has been assigned to lead the Tigers Twenty20 side as he captained Bangladesh in this format earlier in 2009-2010.

Shakib has played so far 59 T20Is and aggregated 1208 runs at average 23.68 runs, the highest individual collection for any Bangladesh cricketer in this format, starting his T20I in November 2006 against Zimbabwe at Khulna. With ball Shakib, captured 70 wickets conceding at average 20.84 runs.

Shakib is now playing for a franchised side ‘Kolkata Knight Riders’ in the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL).

The 30-year young Magura boycaptained Bangladesh in all three formats as he led the Tigers ODI side from 2009-2015 and Test side from 2009-2011.

Shakib made his international debut for the national side in an ODI match against Zimbabwe at Harare in August 6, 2006.

More News »