Search Committee prepares short list of 20 persons for EC

Feature Image
A- A A+

DHAKA : The Search Committee has prepared a short list of 20 persons for the reconstitution of Election Commission, said Cabinet Secretary Mohammad Shafiul Alam.

He told newsmen today after emerging from a meeting of the committee at Supreme Court Judges Lounge here.

Earlier, 125 names submitted by 27 political parties were taken to the committee from the Cabinet Division.

“Responding to the call of the search committee, 27 political parties out of 31 proposed a total of 125 names. Among them, 20 persons’ names have been shortlisted,” Shafiul Alam said.

Led by Search Committee chief Appellate Division judge Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain, the six-member committee held a meeting at 4apm at the SC Lounge.

Other members of the committee High Court judge Justice Obaidul Hassan, Public Service Commission Chairman Mohammad Sadiq, Comptroller and Auditor General (CAG) Masud Ahmed, Dhaka University English Department Professor Syed Manzoorul Islam and Pro Vice-Chancellor of Chittagong University Shireen Akhter attended the meeting.

The cabinet secretary said they prepare the short list following the suggestions of the noted citizens. “Honest and able persons’ names will be given to the President within the due time,” he said.

Replying to a question whether there is any commonness in the list of names proposed by the political parties or not, he said there is similarity in the proposed lists.

On January 25, President Abdul Hamid formed a six-member search committee for reconstituting the new Election Commission (EC).

The committee will have to submit their recommended names within 10 working days by February 8 for appointing the Chief Election Commissioner and other commissioners.

More News »