Injury forces 3 changes in Tigers lineup against Kiwis for 2nd Test

Feature Image
A- A A+

Sports Desk : Bangladesh will face New Zealand in the 2nd Test without their regular captain Mushfiqur Rahim who will remain out of the ground for at least three weeks to recover from multiple injuries.

Tamim Iqbal will lead the Tigers in the 2nd Test starting at 4 am at Hagley Oval, Christchurch on Friday, confirmed Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Thursday.

All-rounder Shakib Al Hasan will be the vice captain for the Test.

Injured opening batsmen Imrul Kayes and top-order batsman Mominul Haque are also sidelined after failing to confirm their fitness for the match.

Nurul Hasan will replace wicketkeeper-batsman Mushfiqur while Soumya Sarkar will come in replacing Imrul Kayes to give company to Tamim in the opening pair.

Uncapped Nazmul Hossain Shanto is likely to replace Mominul at number 3. Nazmul has been included in the revised 14-man squad along with cutter-master Mustafizur Rahman returning as back-up.

Hosts New Zealand are unlikely to change their line-up who played for a seven-wicket victory in the first Test at Basin Reserve, Wellington.

Bangladesh eleven (probable): Tamim Iqbal (captain), Soumya Sarkar, Nazmul Hossain, Mahmudullah Riyad, Shakib Al Hasan (vice captain), Nurul Hasan (wicketkeeper), Sabbir Rahman, Mehedi Hasan, Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed and Subashis Roy.

New Zealand eleven (probable): Jeet Raval, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson (captain), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, BJ Watling (wicketkeeper), Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Trent Boult and Neil Wagner.

More News »