Faridpur to be “Divisional Headquarter” of Padma Division

Feature Image
A- A A+

FARIDPUR : Local Government, Rural Development and Cooperatives Minister Khandker Mosharraf Hossain said here today that Faridpur will be made the ” divisional Headquarter” of Padma division very soon.

Addressing a grand rally at new Bus Terminal of the town the LGRD minister said, “Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has wished to make Padma division and the ‘Divisional Headquarter’ will be set up in Faridpur which will be fulfilled very soon.”

The programme was organized by Faridpur district Motor Workers’ Union (1055) on the occasion of cheque disbursement among the relatives of deceased bus drivers and workers.

The minister urged the people to strengthen the hands of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina as well as Awami League to get a new look of Faridpur city”

He said, ” Faridpur will be the finest city for habitation, business and trade as part of the development work of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina. Extending the area Faridpur Pourashava will be turned as Faridpur City Corporation as early as possible.”

The minister advised the bus drivers and workers to drive the vehicle with a sound body and mind and not to drive recklessly in drunken or unwell condition.

“No repression law which goes to disfavor of the labour will be enacted by Prime minister Sheikh Hasina,” Hossain assured.

With District motor Workers’ Union( MWU-1055) president Zubayer Zakir in the chair District Awami League president Subol Chandra Saha, Sadar Upazila Chairman Khandker Mohtesham Hossain Babor , MWU secretary Md. Golam Nasir, Bus Owner Group president Chowdhury Borkot Ibne Salam, spoke at the function among others.

On the occasion a total of 17 lakh Taka has been disbursed among 34 family members of the deceased bus drivers and workers. Each family member got Tk 50 thousand (Tk 25 thousand in cash and rest Tk 25 thousand in cheque).

Zila Parishad Chairman Lokman Hoassin Mridah, Faridpur Pourashava Mayor Mahatab Ali Methu, Zila parishad vice chairman and women leader Jharna Hasan, town AL president Nazmul Islam Khadker Levi, Kotwali thana AL president Razzak Molla, District Awami Jubo Legue convenor A H M Fuad and Faridpur Press Club President Imtiaz Hasan Rubel also attended the function.

More News »