Bangladesh team to leave for India tomorrow

Feature Image
A- A A+

Bangladesh national cricket team will leave for India on Thursday to play their one-off Test against India, starting at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad on 9 February.

Prior to that, Bangladesh will play a two-day practice match against India A on 5 to 6 February—Two-day practice match Vs India A in Secunderabad, according to schedule announced by both India and Bangladesh cricket boards.

Tigers are expected to return home on 14 February.

Although India were Bangladesh’s opponent in their inaugural Test in 2000, they are the last of the ICC full-member nation to host Bangladesh for a Test for the first time.

After getting Test status, Bangladesh featured in two limited-over tournaments in India to play ICC Champions Trophy qualifiers in 2006 and in the ICC World T20 in 2016.

Bangladesh toured to India four times—1990, 1998, 2006 and 2016— but never played Test cricket or even a bilateral series in the country.

The BCCI on Tuesday announced 16-member Test squad, which will be led by Virat Kohli, for the Test against Bangladesh.

India Test squad

Virat Kohli , Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Karun Nair, Abhinav Mukund, Wriddhiman Saha, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jayant Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvenshwar Kumar, Amit Mishra.

More News »