Bangladesh Air Force, 15 personalities receive Independence Award

Feature Image
A- A A+

Dhaka : Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Thursday handed over the Independence Award 2017, the highest State award, to Bangladesh Air Force and 15 distinguished personalities in recognition of their outstanding contributions to their respective fields.

The Prime Minister handed over a certificate, an 18-carat gold medal weighing 50 gram, and a Tk 3lakh cheque to each of the recipients and their representatives at a function at Dhaka’s Osmani Memorial Auditorium.

Cabinet Secretary Mohammad Shafiul Alam conducted the award-giving ceremony and read out the citations of the awardees.

The awardees are Group Captain (retd) Shamsul Alam Bir Uttam, Ashraful Alam, Shaheed Md Nazmul Huq (posthumous), Syed Mohsin Ali (posthumous), NM Nazmul Ahsan (posthumous), Shaheed Faizur Rahman Ahmed (posthumous) and Bangladesh Air Force (independence and Liberation War).

Prof AHM Touhidul Anowar Chawdhury (medical science), Begum Rabeya Khatun and late Golam Samdani Koraishi (literature, posthumous), Prof Dr Enamul Huq and Ostad Bazlur Rahman Badal (culture), Khalil Kazi OBE (social service), Shamsuzzaman Khan and late Prof Lalit Mohan Nath (research and training, posthumous) and Prof Mohammad Asaduzzaman (public administration).

Later, on behalf of the award recipients, Professor Dr Enamul Huq shared their feelings with the audience upon receiving the award.

Ministers, state ministers, advisers to the PM, members of parliament, diplomats, high civil and military officials were present on the occasion.

More News »