AL welcomes new EC

Feature Image
A- A A+

DHAKA : Awami League (AL) welcomed the newly appointed chief election commissioner (CEC) and four commissioners, appointed by President Abdul Hamid.

In instant reactions to the newly announced Election Commission (EC), some senior leaders of the ruling party told BSS tonight that they have full confidence in the President’s decision and would show utter respect to his choice.

“We welcome the new CEC and other commissioners and hope that they would perform their duties competently,” AL presidium member Dr Abdur Razzak said.

AL Joint General Secretary Mahbub-ul-Alam Hanif said the new CEC and other commissioners showed their sincerity and efficiency during their services at different capacities.

“We believe that they would also carry out their new responsibilities accordingly,” he said.

Referring to the previous statement of his party, Hanif said the party already announced that it would show respect to the decision of the President on forming the EC.

Organising Secretary of AL Khalid Mahmud Chowdhury shared the similar views saying that AL is confident in and respectful to the President decision.

Earlier tonight President Abdul Hamid appointed former Secretary KM Nurul Huda as the new CEC and a former judge, two former civil servants and a retired military officer as election commissioners.

The four election commissioners are former secretary Md Rafiqul Islam, former additional secretary Mahbub Talukder, retired district and session judge Begum Kabita Khanam and Brigadier General (retd) Shahadat Hossain Chowdhury.

More News »