7 Tigers standing in India’s way

Feature Image
A- A A+

Sports Desk : Bangladesh have seven wickets to save their inaugural Test match in India, given their target of 459 to win is the most improbable result going into the final day at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad, UNB reports.

That means the onus will be on the batters who must aim to hold their nerve till the end to see the result at least for a draw. But following a second declaration by Virat Kohli that put Bangladesh in for an awkward session, their top order vulnerabilities surfaced again with both openers and no.3 Mominul failing to survive and fight another day.

On Sunday’s day 4, Bangladesh resumed the 1st innings with overnight score of 322/6 in 104 overs and finished shortly before the lunch on day four scoring 388/10 in 127.5 overs to trail by 299 runs.

India, having a mammoth 687/6-d in the 1st innings, decided not to enforce the follow-on and opened the 2nd innings that was also declared with a figure of 159/4 in 29 overs at tea, extending their lead to 458 from 299 runs.

Bangladesh opened the 2nd innings and remained at stumps playing 35 overs for 103/3 where Shakib Al Hasan (21 off 42 b; 4×4) and Mahmudullah Riyad (9 off 29b) were on batting to resume the innings on day five.

Bangladesh’s three top-order batters – Tamim Iqbal(3), Soumya Sarkar(42) and Mominul Haque (27) – failed to stay the day’s around two-hour last session as they left the crease at for 75 playing 24.1 overs.

After Mominul, Shakib came to pair Mahmudullah in the 4th wicket to play till the end.

Ravichandran Ashwin bagged two wickets for 34 while Ravindra Jadeja one 27 runs for India.

Earlier, Bangladesh skipper Mushfiqur Rahim started the day with overnight score of 81, finally finished his painstaking innings of 262 balls scoring 127 for his 5th Test century which involved 16 boundaries and two over boundaries.

Another overnight batsman Mehedi Hasan Miraz faced four balls on the day, but failed to add any more run with his 3rd day’s collection of 51 off 103 balls, including 10 boundaries as he was bowled out by Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

After Miraz’s departure at 322/7 in 104.4 overs, three lower-order batsmen –Taijul Islam(10), Taskin Ahmed(8) and Kamrul Islam Rabbi*– gave 83 balls company to Mushfiqur, who was caught behind by Wriddhiman Saha off Ravichandran Ashwin bowing at Bangladesh’s final collection.

Umesh Yadav captured three wickets for 84 runs while Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin bagged two wickets each for 70 and 98 runs in the 1st innings.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Ishant Sharma took one wicket each for 52 and 69 runs.

India’s 4th day’s collection saw Cheteshwar Pujara’s unbeaten half century of 54 runs while skipper Virat Kohli (38), Ajinkya Rahane(28), Ravindra Jadeja(16 not out) and Lokesh Rahul(10) were the other double figure scorers for the side.

Making the first breakthrough in the Indian batting castle, pacer Taskin Ahmed captured two top-order batsmen – Murali Vijay and Lokesh Rahul – for 43 runs.

Shakib captured another two wickets – Virat Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane – for 50 runs.

Brief Score:

India 1st innings: 687/6-declared in 166 overs; Virat Kohli 204, Murali Vijay 108, Wriddhiman Saha 106*, Cheteshwar Pujara 83, Ajinkya Rahane 82, Ravindra Jadeja 60*, Ravichandran Ashwin 34, Taijul Islam 3/156, Mehedi Hasan Miraz 2/165, Taskin Ahmed 1/127.

India 2nd innings: 159/4-declared in 29 overs; Cheteshwar Pujara 54*, Virat Kohli 38, Ajinkya Rahane 28, Ravindra Jadeja 16*, Lokesh Rahul 10, Taskin Ahmed 2/43, Shakib Al Hasan 2/50.

Bangladesh 1st innings: 388/10 in 127.5 overs (overnight 322/6 in 104 overs); Mushfiqur Rahim 127, Shakib Al Hasan 82, Mehedi Hasan Miraz 51, Mahmudullah Riyad 28, Tamim Iqbal 24, Sabbir Rahman 16, Soumya Sarkar 15, Mominul Haque 12, Taijul Islam 10, Umesh Yadav 3/84, Ravindra Jadeja 2/70, Ravichandran Ashwin 2/98, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 1/52, Ishant Sharma 1/69.

Bangladesh 2nd innings: 103/3 in 35 overs at stumps; Soumya Sarkar 42, Mominul Haque 27, Shakib Al Hasan batting 21, Mahmudullah Riyad batting 9, Ravichandran Ashwin 2/34, Ravindra Jadeja 1/27.

More News »